Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Questions! Sticky

A topic by Lone Rabbit created May 21, 2021 Views: 1,182 Replies: 44
Viewing posts 1 to 20
Host

Feel free to ask questions about the jam here!

For the time mechanic I'm guessing stuff like time travelling is okay ?

Host(+1)

Yep!

Deleted post
Deleted post
Deleted post

so i am new to game developing and i wanted to improve my skills so is it ok if i join and try

Host

Yes! Of course, everyone is welcome to join. ^^

What about pre-made general code like, for example, dialogue system? Is it allowed? Or only stock empty project to start with?

Host(+1)

Yes that is allowed, but don't go overboard with it.

Can I use Scratch 3.0 to make the game or do I have to use something else?

Host(+2)

You can use any engine you want, but I'm pretty sure Scratch only allows you to play the game you made on their website, so maybe use the time now before the jam to learn how to do proper coding.

ok I am new to this so just wondering 馃檪

But there IS a tool that allows you to turn your Scratch files into .html files. It's called "HTMLifier" and here is the link if you want to: https://sheeptester.github.io/htmlifier/

Are physical games (like ttrpgs) accepted?

Host

Yes, although this jam is originally made for video games only, I'm not going to disallow it if you really want to submit a ttrpg/physical game entry, just keep in mind that there will be less people who can play it and rate it. ^^

Is there a theme to this jam?

Host

Yes, it will be announced at the start of the jam.

Is planning the game (e.g. a design doc) allowed before the jam starts?

Host (1 edit) (+1)

Yep! But just keep in mind that there'll be a theme which will be revealed at the start of the jam.

Submitted

but this theme which will be revealed is optional, right?

Host

Yep

Submitted

What does the Technicality Rating mean?

Host