Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

What are you going to try to figure out, if anything specific?

A topic by droqen created Aug 29, 2021 Views: 1,546 Replies: 21
Viewing posts 1 to 14
(+10)

Hi I've been using Godot for a couple years, I'm going to share a couple things that I thought were really exciting/useful about Godot when I was starting out:

1. If you like text-only tutorials, it's probably not hard for you to find this one, but I really loved the official 'Your first game' tutorial in the Godot docs. Is it even worth linking??? Sure. It's really good. https://docs.godotengine.org/en/stable/getting_started/step_by_step/your_first_g...

2. SHADER CODE! I never understood shader code in Unity because it seemed like there was just absolutely no error reporting (they would just break and do nothing), and possibly other engines have better shader code error reporting (?), but writing shaders in Godot is great because they... like... actually tell you what's gone wrong, just like with real code! I love it.

Just make like, one sprite, and try some shader magic out on it! I'm not a real vfx magician so I haven't messed around with it beyond just kinda getting to know the turf, but hey, it's pretty good. (Probably look up a tutorial for this one. Shaders are very powerful.)

~

Actually, I'll probably mess around with shaders a bit while this jam is going on, that seems like something worth dipping my toes back into. Anyway, if you're thinking of doing/learning anything in particular, have suggestions or resources for me/others, gogogo. An empty forum is a sad forum! That's why I made this thread!

(1 edit) (+5)

For those who are interested in Godot Shaders, some things to know.