Jobs
Tags

Post your JAM IDEA Sticky

A topic by dto created Jan 02, 2016 Views: 835 Replies: 10
Viewing posts 1 to 9
Host

What are people doing?

Host

I am making a tiny roguelike clone of Berzerk for the 2600. I will write my entry in Chicken Scheme using SDL and OpenGL. As I have never used Scheme before, this will be 100% new code, and I need to keep it simple. I'm going to reuse a few sound effects from an old 2008 CL version of this idea, and the following PNG tiles:

Jam Host (2 edits)

I am working on a vertical scrolling bullet hell shoot-em-up game called MetaX. The MetaX is a special space ship made from reclaimed materials that can reclaim, or consume, enemy ships for bonus points and more power. I guess it's sort-of like bullet hell meets Kirby. I'm going to attempt to make about 5 minutes of gameplay: A single stage with a mid-boss and final boss.

Tech-wise, I'm using Guile Scheme and my own game framework called Sly that sits on top of an SDL2/OpenGL base. So far I made a title screen and am working out some rendering issues with my sprite batch implementation. I've never written a complete game with Sly yet, so this should reveal what really needs improving in the future.

Submitted

I am creating a local multiplayer platformer game, where the players scramble to collect coins and gems that randomly appear throughout the level. It is inspired by the old Super Mario Bros Battle Mode, but with more emphasis on moving fast to collect lots of treasure, not trying to make the other player die. If I have enough time, players will be able to bump into each other, throw items, and trigger trap walls and platforms to try to slow down the other players. If I don't have time for all that, it will simply be a race to see which player can navigate the level fastest. I am going to try to make 2 or 3 levels, and have a simple text-based level format so other people can create their own custom levels.