SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

An action game about high school ninja assassin girls

A topic by Crowno created Aug 30, 2017 Views: 1,728 Replies: 14
Viewing posts 1 to 10
Submitted (2 edits)

Hello everyone, nice to meet you!

I first heard about AGBIC (and Famicase <3) last year but I at that time I wasn't able to properly work on a game project for it, so I am considering this year as my first official entry on this jam. I have never written a devlog before and I rarely have the confidence to post the details about my creative process in public, but I felt this could be a cool opportunity to try it out and share my progress with you. Hopefully I won't fail to keep it updated but hey, game jams are great for experiments, right? 
Note: I'm not a native english speaker, so pardon me for any mistakes. Feel free to correct me as well, I appreciate it!

1. Choosing a cart and a concept
  2. Basic Movement Stuff
  3. Art Style and Basic Animations

#1 - Choosing a cart and a concept
As the first entry on this, let's start with the base of everything.
I spent some time browsing through every cart from Famicase 2017 and saving my favorites to a folder, from which I took more time to come up with ideas and concepts for each one of them.  I kept filtering the ideas to find a balance between a theme I enjoy, gameplay that could be fun and what I can realistically finish within 2 to 3 weeks. Between a quirky RPG, a vanilla metroidvania and an action platformer, I ended up choosing the latter.

The cart chosen was JK 暗殺者 (or "JK Assassins") by José Salot. When I saw this cart, I immediately thought about old school action platformers with  badass characters doing flips and fighting against evil robots. Thus, the "action game about high school ninja assassin girls" idea was on.

JK暗殺者 by José Salot