Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Deep Sea Valentine

A topic by KigyoDev created Feb 04, 2019 Views: 886 Replies: 20
Viewing posts 1 to 14
Submitted (1 edit) (+1)

Hello! This is my first time participating in a game jam so I'm very excited to be here!

I actually started working on a project yesterday, but I scrapped that idea so I'm counting today as Day 1.

I'm making the game in RPGMaker. There will be no battles since I want to focus on the story and character interactions.
The main character is a (humanized) pink dolphin and all other characters will also be based on sea creatures. 
Considering the pink dolphin's role in mythology (and its color scheme, lol), I'm playing with the idea of making it a dating sim.

Today I made:

• 2 characters (pink dolphin and hammerhead shark)
  • floor tiles
  • text window

Next step will be making various plants, rocks, and buildings. Also figuring out how to achieve a more underwater-y atmosphere, since a light blue overlay isn't really doing it for me.

Submitted

This is pretty cool! I like the concept!

The sprites are so cute! I also dig the extremely 90s pastel text window frames.

Host

aww these characters are so cute! also i love dating sims that are done in rpgmaker + games other than vns... theyre always really interesting to me haha

Submitted

Time for Day 2. Thank you very much for the kind words so far!

My goals for today were underwater tiles and better atmosphere, so this is what I came up with:

I also designed 2 more characters: amazonian manatee and sea dragon.

Additionally, I've finalized my decision to make it a (mini) dating sim. Pink dolphin wants to find a date for Valentine's Day and promised to keep her friend (amazonian manatee) updated. That's why I implemented this little phone system (which took me far too long to figure out):

There will be 3 female and 3 male love interests (probably).