SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Hangover

A topic by mariusvnh created Jan 05, 2018 Views: 580 Replies: 9
Viewing posts 1 to 9
(1 edit)

Hi everyone,

I'm 18 and I'm a french dev student and i waned to do my first game jam here (sorry for the spelling errors) .

I saw the theme and i wanted to respect it. So I started to work on a game on unity in 2D (top down).

You will discover the story when you will play it.

Now, i wanted to make a devlog but i will post only when i want to say something about my game advencement, so let's go !

Day 1: Tilemap, Collision, Movement and textboxes

Today I worked on the basic tilemap to have the basics to work on. I applyed the collision to a player sprite with the collision layer of the tilemap. My tilemap is splitted in 3 layers: 

- background for the ground

- Collider tilemap with the collision objects like walls and tables

- top layer with things on the table (by exemple)

After that, I worked on a movement system with standard keys (very easy to do) but the hardest was to set the player rotation in function of the mouse position (the player is always looking at the camera). Next i wrote a script that create textboxes with triggers, the player can now speak !

That's all for today, thanks for reading

See you next time :D

Bye !

Oooh a good start, I'm so curious to know more details :)

Submitted

Intriguing! Do you have an idea for the general genre of the game, like action, drama, romance, etc.?

(1 edit)

Welcome back to my devlog !

First, I want to answer the queston of the genre of the game :) It will be a narrative experience

Day 2: Light and shading

Today I worked very very hard on a light system like the monaco game. I was inspired by some external scripts to raycast the light rays.

This is the result:

I really love the result.

Next, I worked on a shader that creates a yellow halo around object and created some interactions with specific items.