Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

No idea what I'm doing! Advice?

A topic by MrBwamManGames created Sep 12, 2023 Views: 237 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(+1)

I'm really new to game development, I've messed around with stuff here and there but I've never gone and released anything yet. I thought this might be a decent starting point, and I like the Game Boy, so it sounds nice. Also, I just wanna finally get into game dev, I've been pushing it off for too long. Only issue is, I'm pretty much a beginner so I feel completely lost lol. I have most of my experience in art, and I have some beginner level experience in coding in Unity and making music. I was wondering if anyone here had any advice and stuff, I'll take anything. I don't have any specific questions unfortunately, sorry about that. I was just feelin a little lost and wondered if I could gather at least a bit of info here.

Sorry if this isn't the place to post this, I can always delete it if ya need me to. I hope you're all having a good day though. Best of luck to ya.

(1 edit) (+3)

Commit to it

If you're going to do a game jam, make sure your schedule isn't busy. When the theme is revealed, start thinking about ideas and make sure to write them down somewhere to not forget.

Games don't have to be perfect

Games here are prototypes and don't have to be fully fleshed out. Make anything (as long as it corresponds with the theme and rules) you want and release it!

Take breaks and stay hydrated

It's easy to get lost on your project so it's a good idea to add reminders to take breaks at some point. Stand up, stretch,  go outside for a walk to clear your mind, and stay hydrated.

Have fun

Games jams are all about having fun and making something you enjoy. When you release your game, you'll feel proud on what you created and that will motivate you to participate in more jams!

HostSubmitted(+3)

@not_davido makes some good points: here are some more.

Don't be afraid