Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

My first game ! Time Crawler

A topic by Iknowcturne created Aug 04, 2020 Views: 643 Replies: 20
Viewing posts 1 to 13
Submitted(+4)

Hello everyone, first of all good luck to all of us for your games creations !

I’m a new Unity dev and it’s the first time I participate a GameJ am.

Let me introduce you my game : Time Crawler !  

My game is a dungeon crawler where every door you use lead you to a random room full of enemies, treasure, gold and time crystals !

This is how I wanted to approach the jam theme. Not original I agree but I wanted a dungeon crawler game inspired by games like “Binding of Isaac”, “Enter the gungeon”, etc. My rewind feature is this :

You start with 3 crystal shards ( and you can collect some during your run ! ) which allow you to get back in the last room you visited ! This mean a back in the past ! So every enemies, every items that you can buy will respawn too ! This can lead to some strategies like :

Enter a “shop “ room, buy some items but you don’t have enough gold to purchase them all,

Enter the next room by the door, kill some enemies and grind some golds then you can spend a crystal to get back in the shop room with some fresh golds to spend !

But beware ! Every room your enter or get back in (!!) will make your player a step closer from that evil floor boss ! This is why you should use your crystal wisely ! because you can get really early facing a difficult boss !

Keep in mind that EVERY doors lead to a random level ! That mean if you get back in a room then use the same door you used before will lead you to a total new room ! With new danger !

Maybe dodging this littles slimes room wasn’t a good idea when you saw 4 angry trolls waiting for you now !

This is how I used the theme ! Back in room, high risk but high reward or maybe low risk low rewards ! Who knows ? 😊

The game is divided by floor and rooms ! (Basically : 1 – 1, 1-2, and so on ( Floor – room )