Skip to main content

On Sale: GamesAssetsToolsTabletopComics
Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Rules Question

A topic by PetertheMeh created 29 days ago Views: 204 Replies: 22
Viewing posts 1 to 6

Hey Alfred, 

I feel like I'm play the rules wrong I've played about a dozen of games and had a great time but feel like I'm not interacting with enough Peril cards. 

Under the "Actions" stages . . What are the differences between Stage #1 Spend/Steel Resolve vs. Stage #2 Encounter? 

I've only been Spending/Steeling Resolve during Stage #1 and only "activating" the abilities during Stage #2 (Flag immediately, snake unify during scoring), it almost seems like playing card in stage #2 is free . . ? 

Let me know what I'm missing? 

Developer

Hey!

Excuse me if I'm covering ground you're already familiar with.

Those 2 stages, steeling/spending resolve and encountering are inexplicably linked. That is, what side up you play your card (conquest or peril) in stage 2 is determined by whether you spent resolve or steeled resolve in stage 1.

If you want to play a card as a conquest, you must spend the appropriate amount of resolve.

If you want to steel your resolve so that it is divided into smaller chunks, you must play a card as a peril.

Those first 2 stages are part of the same decision. Does that make help clarify?

Yes that totally makes way more sense now! Thank you. So basically i should only be laying down 1 card (conquest/peril) per round? That also helps clear up the Draw section for me because you say that "typically you'll draw 1 card." Thank you this helps so much. 

Developer

That's right! This is useful for me, by the way, for tightening up the language in the rules. Thank you.

I have a other question for you. The game play loop has been so engaging now after you helped me with my confusion. Now the next question I have is about the "Steel" action. 

In your rules example you have the wanderer's resolve split into 2 separate pools. 

Question #1a. If I wanted to play the "Skeleton Key" conquest side up would I still have 2 resolve left? Since it is two separate pools of resolve? 

Question #1b. In that same situation what if I used the "Shady Accomplice" instead? [My guess is still 2 Resolve because one of the pools doesn't make change] 

Question #2 continuing with the Wanderer, after Steeling once my resolve pools are 2 + 2. Steel 2nd time 2+1+1, because I slide the mini boss/hero to cover the 2 pool resolve. But if I Steel a 3rd time is it 1+1+1+1? Is that what the upside down 1 columns are for? 


I hope these questions are coming off as a sign of appreciation and love for the game loop because I really have been having a blast with the game!! Take care Alfred. 

Developer

1a. If you'd already steeled an appropriate hero's resolve once, and have 2/2, then yes. You'll spend one 2 and have another left.

1b. Correct, you'd be left with 2.

2. Yes, steeling 3 times without spending anything will get you to 1/1/1/1

Let me know if you have any more questions!

Wait, hold on, so to clarify:

Steeling your resolve ends your turn? 

I've been steeling resolve and playing a conquest in the same turn (which is to say, before drawing cards) this whole time

Developer

Ah, yes you should be drawing a card.

Well. This makes a lot of sense.

Developer

Ha, glad I could clarify!

i have one last question which is, you can only play a peril card if you can also steel resolve, right? 

Developer

Yes, steeling and playing a peril go hand in hand.

(1 edit)

Hi, Alfred! I didn't understand why there are 4 columns of 1 resolve upside down on the front hero card. Am I missing something here? Why they are upside down?

Developer

Each hero starts with a single pool of 4 resolve.

  • If you steel that hero's resolve once, that becomes 2 pools of 2.
  • If you steel their resolve again (without spending any of it), it becomes 1 pool of 2 and 2 pools of 1.
  • If you steel it yet again, it becomes 4 pools of 1.

That last circumstance is why you see them like that upside down on that card. The reason they're upside down is, once you rotate them to be the correct way up, the now redundant number 4 will be covered up by the card to the right of it.

Does that make sense?

Understood. I was assuming it was because the 4 pools of 1 but didn't figure out why it was upside down. Now it's clear. Thanks!

Hi, I really like the game this far and is looking forward to the art-version when the kickstarter arrives 🙂

however I’ve got a question about spending resolve as well - do I have to spend resolve if I can or can I choose to play a card I can’t afford? 

Say I got a pool of 2 strength resolve left and I got one card that cost 2 strength, one card that costs 1 strength and lastly a card that cost 1 willpower. Can I choose to play the willpower card as a peril if I want? 

Developer

In your example, you can play the willpower card as a peril. When you steel (and as a result play a card as a peril) you can divide any single remaining pool of resolve you have, even if that resolve doesn't match the one required by the card you're playing as a peril. 

You can always do this unless you cannot steel your remaining heroes' resolve any further., i.e. the only resolve left on all of your heroes (or the remaining heroes) is 1/1/1/1 or less.

I hope that makes sense!

Thank you!

(1 edit)

I have another one, sorry :) The correct way to play is by placing the cards in the fort in order from left to right, or can I place them anywhere on the floor I'm on?

Developer

Good question! The rules don't specify currently. Thematically I think it should be left to right or right to left – your choice when you come to a new floor, because that's like you've ascended a staircase on either end of the fort. But you definitely can't place directly into the middle column on your first go on that floor.

Curious to hear thoughts about this.

(1 edit) (+1)

Thank you! Well, I was playing always from left to right, but now I'm convinced that it should be played like a staircase (first floor=left to right, second floor=right to left, third floor=left to right). I played once placing the first card in the middle of the second floor, for convenience. But it felt like cheating.

Developer

Ooh interesting, that probably is the most thematic way to do it. I'll have to think about it a bit more.

(+1)

Oh I am so glad that I'm not the only one who played the game doing your "Staircase Method" I would also switch it up and do right to left at level 1. Based on my initial hand and mini boss. I felt it gave more tactics to the game.