How does a renown roll fail? By getting anything other than a 1?
Lower is better when it comes to Renown rolls. Anything other than a 1 isn't an outright failure, just not the best possible outcome. In my games I usually treat it as a 50/50 chance of success.
I see now. That helps a lot, thanks for the reply!
I have another question. In the dueling section I'm struggling with the part about instant kills.
If a level 3 cowboy can instantly kill an opponent "on a roll of 2-3 as their total" does this mean a level 6 instantly kills on a roll of 5-6 as their total? Does being a higher level increase the chances of an instant kill or does it simply change the number?
Okay so I'm level 2. I roll. It adds up to 2 (but it would have also worked if I rolled a sum of 1).
So by that logic if I work my way to level 5 and I roll it has to add up to 5, right? (But it could have also worked if I rolled a sum of 4?)
Does a level 1 have to roll a 3 for an instant kill or do they need to roll a 1 in a duel specifically?
Sorry if this is confusing but I'm confused.
Sorry about the confusion, I'm not the best at writing rules clearly and I'll be hiring an editor for future endeavors.
A level 6 cowpoke would instant kill on a roll of 3, 4, 5, or 6. Leveling up increases your instant kill range, not change the number.
Level 1 cowpokes would also instant kill on a roll of 3, the range doesn't really increase until level 4.
Sorry again for any confusion!
If a level 6 instant kills on a roll of 3-6 would a level 4 instant kill on a roll of 3-4?
But then why does a level 3 kill on a roll of 2-3? Would it not be just a 3?
I'm assuming a level 2 player would kill on a roll of 1-2?
Ah, okay, I see where your confusion is coming from. Duels are treated differently than normal combat, so instead of rolling the standard 3d6 you roll Renown + Weapon Damage. An instant kill triggers when the total is less than or equal to your level.