Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Ideas for beginners to proc gen and programming?

A topic by Cam created Nov 06, 2016 Views: 1,247 Replies: 16
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(1 edit)

Hi everyone!

I'm an inexperienced programmer that is learning C# in Unity. I'm really inspired to try to do something for ProcJam but I'm unsure where to start, as most of the things you find on procgen require considerable programming experience. (I've read the "5 ways..." post but I guess I need a bit more of a helping hand or understanding to get me on the right path and the creative juices flowing.)

Perhaps this might even develop into a resource for following ProcJams for people like myself.

So if you have any tinsy-tiny ideas, explanations etc, please, I'd love to hear them. It doesn't matter how small the idea is I'd just love to submit and come out the other side having learnt something about procedural generation.

Thanks for your time.

Cam

I'm a big fan of http://catlikecoding.com/unity/tutorials/

He explains stuff really well too.

I like Jasper's tutorials too. I began his procedural tutorials a few months ago but found I was just copying the code instead of understanding what I was doing and why (cave generation typically requires intermediate programming experience, which seems to be ~90% of procgen tutorials).

I believe I need to have a better foundation in programming before tackling procgen of that complexity. That's where I'm struggling; finding it difficult to grasp the full gamut of what procgen could be and mean. What it is in its simplest form. Is it simply using random elements within a semi designed constraint?

This is my personal view on your last question (writing on phone we'll see if it assists me in some of the text).

To me it is about emergence.

You have some sort of non-predictable input and rules to interpret/constrain it.