SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Patch ❀ Update 2!

A topic by emirosan created Jan 06, 2018 Views: 892 Replies: 13
Viewing posts 1 to 13
Submitted (5 edits) (+1)

what is patch?

Patch is a hybrid gardening/virtual pet game! The type of care you give your seed will influence the kind of pet it becomes after it blooms.

gameplay

Patch has two stages of care: Sprout and Blossom. Begin in the Sprout stage where you will plant your magical seed and care for it until it blooms. You will need to give it the proper amount of water, fertilizer, and sunlight/shade to survive. Once your seedling blooms, you can pick it--revealing the lovely pet you've grown! Once your pet has been given a nickname, you'll enter the Blossom stage caring for your pet with added controls such as pruning and praising. Give your pet lots of love and attention to keep it blooming.

assets

I'll be using Photoshop and Paintbrush mostly. I want to go for a simplistic art and animation style. (It's my first time animating!) My goal is to give Patch an early-2000s feeling inspired by my own experience with Tamagotchis and other virtual pets during that time. Good vibes all around ❀ 

about the patch team

Hello~ My name is Emmer, and I'm extremely new to game dev. I work at a university library full-time and work creatively in my spare time! My background is in graphic design with a focus in illustration. I'll be speaking for most of the devlog entries here for the jam; I'm also in charge of the concept, game design, and art assets.

My Patch partner is Liam who is VERY KINDLY acting as my mentor and programmer. He works part-time making games for a university and the other part making games with his pals. (Their game releases just three days after the jam even, wow! → http://superslimearena.net/)

devlog updates

1. Meet Berry and Chard
  2. Timers galore

I cannot wait to play this, it's like all my interests! And mega cute art!

Submitted