SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Holee Grail

A topic by SteveNeato created Jan 06, 2018 Views: 596 Replies: 6
Viewing posts 1 to 5
(21 edits)

Intro

Hello, I'm making my first game for my first game jam. What a surprise, right?

I'm a programmer, so I want to make a game without a game engine. I'll be using C++ with mainly SDL2 for window creation and input and OpenGL for graphics. I intend for the game to be cross-platform, but I'm developing on a Mac first because I have been doing that for the past few years and I enjoy it. I want to support Mac OSX, Linux, and Windows. I possibly may make a WebGL version if there is time, but that is a stretch goal.

I'm hopefully not over ambitious in my game. I haven't made anything like this so I may scale it back if I think I can't finish it within the time frame.

The Game

Since this is my first game, I would like to make it as simple as I can without losing motivation for making a game. This game will be an almost rogue-like game where the world is simulated in turns. You control a main character that will kill enemies, level up stats, drink potions and find treasure. The aim of the game is to improvise, adapt and overcome the underworld and to find the Holy Grail.

Attacking enemies is based on randomness and simplified attributes. The main character has these attributes:

• Strength - Determines melee and damage
  • Constitution - Hitpoints
  • Dexterity - Attack speed
  • Intelligence - Determines what potions you can identify and use.

Each are ranked 3 to 18. You may have noticed how similar this is to Dungeons and Dragons; that is because I ripped it off; there is already a wealth of knowledge on these stats and how they apply to damage an enemies, so it seems like a good idea to use them. There is no charisma or wisdom though, I don't want to add NPCs that you can talk to where that would matter.

The player is awarded a stat increase after killing enemies and reading books for the most part.