Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Post-mortem and Thanks

A topic by Farrell Nah Jun Hao created Aug 02, 2016 Views: 273 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 5
Submitted

Hi! Just thought that I should spend some time reflecting on this jam and share a little of what I got out of it for anyone interested.

I'm pretty new to game dev and game jams in general. I feel that this was the best game that I've made in a game jam so far (or at least the one that I'm proudest of). It was mostly complete (except for audio) and the gameplay worked out well. My previous games were either incomplete, horribly buggy, or just not all that interesting.

I believe that the thing that helped most was the planning. I spent more time planning out this game (almost half a day) than I had for any other jam, and it really paid off. All that planning really helped me to solidify my game idea and the systems that I would use to implement the mechanics. I was also able to preempt problems on the development side and come up with ideas to solve them. As a result, the development went pretty smoothly, since I already had a good idea of how the game's systems will be implemented and they would interact with each other. I think the development time I saved was much more than the time I spent planning out the project.