Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs

Does Dithering violate the "Only 2 colors" rule?

A topic by Flashia created Jul 20, 2018 Views: 181 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 4

I understand that two colors have to be used for the ENTIRE game, but what if I wanted to create the illusion of depth at least with dithering?  This involves using two colors to give the illusion of additional colors.  Is this allowed?

HostSubmitted

I don't really know. But if you see more than 2 colors on screen (like if you use some transparant sprite) it's not allowed. If we use a peek colors tool to get the hexa code, we need to have only 2 differents code.

Submitted(+1)

just don't overuse dithering :)

So if you still see the pixels it's fine I think.

HostSubmitted

Yup

HostSubmitted

Oh sorry I've miss understand what is dithering. You can use it if when you use a color picker, you can only pick the 2 basics colors. And you can use it but without to small pixel.