Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Couple of Bugs Playing Nova

A topic by SAldricH-tech created Apr 27, 2025 Views: 117 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 3
(2 edits)

Using Janbjorn on Nova, using a basic attack should allow me to choose which ability to use first (ready the Helmet with Nova's response ability or using Janbjorn) since both triggers at the same time, after using a basic power and after and the hero attacks. That way the resource from the Novas Helmet can be used for the Janbjorn trigger.

Also, playing The Locust Ally allowed me to return any Aggression Card, it should be only Aggression Events.  Here is the deck tested.

https://pastebin.com/i74Xu6ML

*In the next Black Panther pack there are a lot of cards that triggers after a basic power is used, it would be wise to check the timing sequence so no issues like this arise in the future.

Developer

Hi @SAldricH-tech,

Thank you for your bug report regarding cards “06019” (Jarnbjorn), “28001a” (Nova), and “28010” (The Locust: Fernanda Rodriguez) in version 0.5.9.4.

If I understand you correctly, you mean that “06019” (Jarnbjorn) and “28001a” (Nova) should trigger at the same time. However, the text for these cards indicates otherwise:

“06019” (Jarnbjorn) reads:

After your hero attacks an enemy, …

“28001a” (Nova) reads:

After you use one of Nova’s basic powers, …

In the current engine, AfterUnitAttackUnit is a different event from AfterUnitUseBasicPower, and we believe that making an attack should trigger before using a basic power.

For example, when you play “03006” (Shield Toss) and select two targets, you can trigger “06019” twice because the engine will broadcast two AfterUnitAttackUnit messages. However, regardless of how many targets you attack, the engine will only broadcast one AfterUnitUseBasicPower message.

Regarding “28010” (The Locust: Fernanda Rodriguez), this is a scripting error, and we will fix it soon.

Thank you for your feedback!

(2 edits)

As you said, both text are different "After your hero attacks an enemy, …" and "After you use one of Nova’s basic powers, …", however both text refer to the same timing point, both happens at the same time, the same happen if you defend, both trigger at same time "after the hero defends" and "after a hero uses a basic power".

Sadly, this is not spell out quite bluntly in the rule book reference 1.6. The closes thing is this section:

In the rest of the book there are no mention of a response of using a "Basic Power" in any timing sequence (see last image), only references to the core use of said basic power: Recover, Attack, Thwart, and Defend. I understand that changing the current engine is something more difficult to do than fixing a card bug. Maybe this is not the highest source of confident, but asking around Discord servers, people of the community sims to agree with my assessment. 

To complement on the sequencing, in the same timing point we are discussing here, abilities labeled "After a [character] is damage" and "After a [character] is defeated" happens at the same.

Regarding your Shield Toss example, I get that Janbjorn trigger after the resolution of the event since it is a single instance of an Attack, regardless of how may cards are discarded. Will Janbjorn fire 3 times after playing Dance of Deth since it is consider as 3 attack instances??

Developer

Hi @SAldricH-tech,

Thank you for your response. However, the rule you provided is specific to Attack and Use Basic Power, not about the workflow of them.

Let us show you a simplified attacking workflow in the current engine:

WhenUnitWouldAttack
WhenEnemyActivateAgainstYou/WhenUnitUseBasicPower

for each target:

    WhenUnitBeingAttacked
    WhenUnitWouldAttackUnit
    WhenUnitMakeKeyWordAttack
    WhenRecalculateAttackDamage
    AfterUnitAttackUnit             // <- trigger "06019"

AfterUnitAttackEnd
AfterEnemyActivationEnd/AfterUnitUseBasicPower // <- trigger "28001a"

As you can see, “06019” (Jarnbjorn) and “28001a” (Nova) do not trigger at the same point.

We appreciate your insights and understand the desire for these triggers to align. If you can provide any additional details or references that support the idea that “06019” and “28001a” should trigger simultaneously, we would be happy to consider updating the engine accordingly.

To answer your question: Yes, Jarnbjorn will trigger three times after playing Dance of Death, as it is considered three attack instances.

Thank you for your contributions!

(2 edits)

The Flow of trigger resolution is right here:


As point number 2 states, this all can be trigger in any order. These are all the triggers separately:

After a [character] attacks an enemy/minion---------------> This is the same as using a basic power, in this case exhauste and target an enemy

After a [character] attacks and damages an enemy/minion

After a [character] attacks and defeats an enemy/minion

After a [character] is attacked

In your code,  

AfterUnitAttackUnit = AfterUnitUseBasicPower

The last source to settle is a direct quote from FFG, I'll try to get a response on the matter