Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

How to handle different channels per version?

A topic by Wesnoth created Sep 14, 2021 Views: 412 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 3

For the game the Battle for Wesnoth, major releases are handled in the following way:

  • Even numbered versions (for example, 1.14.x) are considered the “stable” series and only get smaller bug fixes.
  • Odd numbered versions (for example, 1.15.x) are considered the “development” series and are where major changes are made, including things that are not backwards compatible.

Eventually though, development on the 1.15 series will finish and it will become the next stable series: 1.16.

The questions:

  • What happens to the channel if I click the “Delete file” button on the “Edit game” page? Does it delete the entire channel, or does the channel still exist but it’s no longer available for download?
  • What happens to players who are using a channel after “Delete file” is clicked?
  • Is butler able to rename a channel? For example, to rename the 1.15 channel to 1.16? I am aware of the “Change display name” option, which is not what I’m asking about.
Moderator

I think you are misunderstanding channels. They are only meant to differentiate between build types your project offers, regardless of their version. For example one channel can be “Windows” and one can be “Linux”.

Then when you upload your builds with butler, you select which channel a build should go to (“Windows” or “Linux” in this example) and then pick the version number of that build. Then butler will create a history for each channel, and users using the Itch app will be allowed to select a previous version, if they want.

By default the latest version is visible to everyone.

What happens to the channel if I click the “Delete file” button on the “Edit game” page? Does it delete the entire channel, or does the channel still exist but it’s no longer available for download?

I haven’t tried it, but I believe it deletes the whole channel, including all past builds.

What happens to players who are using a channel after “Delete file” is clicked?

If someone has already downloaded that version locally, they’ll still have access to it, but they won’t be able to automatically update through the Itch app.

Is butler able to rename a channel? For example, to rename the 1.15 channel to 1.16? I am aware of the “Change display name” option, which is not what I’m asking about.

I’m not sure, but I would imagine not. Channels are not meant to be named after each version number, that’s why butler has the “–userversion 0.0.0” command, where you can specify a version number for each build, even if they go on the same channel.

Hope that helps.

Yeah, it sounds like I misunderstood them; thanks. What I don’t follow though is:

Then butler will create a history for each channel, and users using the Itch app will be allowed to select a previous version, if they want.

When downloading through the app I don’t have the option of downloading older versions uploaded to a channel, I only have the option of which channel I want to use.

Moderator(+1)

There is an option to download a previous version, but it’s a bit hidden. The default option to get the latest version is the desired functionality for the majority of users. Here is how to download an older version on the Itch app:

  • Navigate to the desired game’s page.

  • On the bottom bar, click the cog button. This should display a lit of what files from that project are currently installed, and which ones can be installed.

  • On each installed package, there is a cog button labeled “Manage”. Click that.

  • This will bring you a few options, like “Show in file manager”, “Check for update” and “Switch to another version…”. The last one will show you all versions of that package and an option to roll back to them.

Hope that helps

It does, thanks.

This topic has been auto-archived and can no longer be posted in because there haven't been any posts in a while.