Skip to main content

On Sale: GamesAssetsToolsTabletopComics
Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

quantumodo

339
Posts
131
Topics
1
Following
A member registered Feb 27, 2025

Recent community posts

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-spider-man-sinister_six-expert-(45)-(919814581).json, I'm trying to pay for Across the Spiderverse with a Web-Warrior ally from my hand to then choose it to be put in play as the effect of Across the Spider-Verse. I cannot, because I'm being forced to choose the ally from the discard pile before paying. However, this should be allowed according to this ruling: 

If the Winter Soldier player is in alter-ego and tries to use their Cybernetically Enhanced (CE) ability while Cybernetic Arm (CA) is in their hand, and actually use said Cybernetic Arm card as a resource to pay for the ability’s cost of 1 resource, what happens? Is this valid because we know where the card is and thus know it has no valid target?
There are other abilities in the game which search for a target where it’s a lot trickier as to whether there might be a valid target, and I assume both abilities would be beholden to the same rules. For example, Hawkeye’s Quiver asks us to search the top 5 cards of our deck for an arrow event. But it’s possible to know where all 10 of his arrow cards are if they are all in “open information” areas such as your hand, discard pile, or already under the Quiver.
So ultimately I think our real question is less about Winter Soldier’s alter-ego ability or Hawkeye’s Quiver, but more so on the rules about valid targets on initiating abilities that search your deck (and how much information the player is meant to memorize and how many areas they are meant to search through to confirm if there might be a valid target).

Yes, you would be able to use Bucky Barnes’s ability and discard your Cybernetic Arm to pay for it, allowing you to “search” your discard pile for the Arm and put it into play. Similarly, you could use Hawkeye’s Quiver to search the top 5 cards of your deck for an Arrow event, even if you already know that no Arrow event can be found there.

When we discussed these examples we ultimately determined that “search” abilities should be exempt from “valid target” rules, with the consideration that most searches will be made using incomplete information (similar to ability costs requiring discarding a deck to locate a valid target). Most of the time a player using the ability of Hawkeye’s Quiver won’t know the specific location of each of their Arrow events, and the game shouldn’t require them to keep track in order to use the ability; they should just need pay the cost of exhausting the Quiver and having 1 or more cards in their deck to search.

And we’d want to treat Bucky’s ability the same, where as long as the cost can be paid, a search can be made, and knowing the location of the Arm beforehand does not prevent the search. We will continue to discuss how exactly to implement this in the rules.

-Alex – May 16, 2025

There was a previous ruling that prevented this, but this supersedes it. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-groot-iron_man-(67)-(844454325).json, I played We Are Groot (https://marvelcdb.com/card/16006) and I only removed 2 counters from Groot. However, Tough status cards were given to 4 characters. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-groot-enchantress-(138)-(139645149).json, I have Trance of Wrath attached to me (https://marvelcdb.com/find?q=trance+of+wrath) but there is no way to activate it. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-groot-mutagen_formula-expert-(78)-(2009931709).json, I defended and took no damahe, but I was not given the option to play Stop Hitting Yourself. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In the Defend the Tower scenario it is difficult to see one of the main schemes bceause of the Avengers Towers card, as you can appreciate here: 

Thanks in advance!

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-apocalypse-expert-(286)-(1287627358).json, in the last step, is is possible that the minion (Infinite Soldier) should gained surge because of the side scheme in play (Gene Pool)?

Thanks in advance!

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-apocalypse-expert-(277)-(1287627358).json, ts it possible that Riposte is doing 2 damage instead of 3? There are many interrupts and responses, but I think noticed that (sorry if that is not the case). 

Thanks in advance!

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-apocalypse-expert-(230)-(1287627358).json, I defeated an enemy during the villain phase but I think that Change of Fortune did not trigger (there were many responses and interrupts and I may have missed it, but I think it didn't; maybe it was because the minion was defeated before finishing the attack).  

Thanks in advance!

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-apocalypse-expert-(86)-(297694971).json, I played To Me My X-Men and put Colossus in play. But then I discarded him to play another ally. However, at the end to the turn, Colossus was rerturned to my hand as he were in play. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

I do not have a savefile for this (I wan't sure if it really was a bug), but when you play Scrying (https://marvelcdb.com/card/45036) and you have two cards in the deck, you are forced to draw one and discard the other. According to this ruling (taken from here https://hallofheroeslcg.com/latest-ffg-rulings-post-rrg-1-5/) you should be able to choose what to do with the cards, even if they are fewer than three: 

157 – I’m playing the new Magik hero. Some questions came up. 1.The Clobber event returns to my hand if played using her ability, right? 2.With the Scrying event, if you only have 1 or 2 cards left in your deck, can you decide what to do with those between drawing 1, discarding 1 and putting 1 back on the deck?
  1. Yes, playing Clobber from the top of your deck as Magik allows you to put Clobber in your hand after resolving it as long as it’s the first card you played that round.
  2. Yes, you can play Scrying even if you have less than 3 cards left in your deck, and you can choose what to do with the remaining cards.

-Alex – May 2, 2024

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

I do not have a savefile for this because I'm getting error 400 when trying to report a bug, but this is the situation: 

* I have two X-Men in play

* I also have Utopia, which increases my ally limit to 4 if all my allies are X-Men

* I play Karma https://marvelcdb.com/card/38011 and control a minion, that is converted into an ally. Now, I have 4 allies in play, but the controlled minion is NOT X-Men

I should have been asked to discard an ally, but I was not. This is the situation: 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

I have no savefile for this because I am receving error 400 when trying to report bugs, but when playing against Magneto, I defeated Fabian Cortez https://marvelcdb.com/card/32159 Cards were discarded from the encounter deck until Senyaka https://marvelcdb.com/card/32161 was put in play. Immedeately, Snyaka activated againts me because of Teamwork, but it has been ruled that this should not be the case (taken from here: https://hallofheroeslcg.com/latest-ffg-rulings-post-rrg-1-6/):

I wanted to clarify on Fabian Cortez’s When Defeated ability. It’s been ruled in the past, if I discard/engage an Acolyte Minion with the Teamwork keyword, that the new Acolyte minion’s teamwork would not activate. Two questions: 1) Is that still correct? It is my understanding that Fabian Cortez is still in play while the Teamwork minion engages me as I need to fully resolve the When Defeat ability before discarding Fabian. 2) If it is indeed correct that the minion’s teamwork would not activate, is there a “no nested” ability at play here that would prevent the teamwork keyword?

That’s still correct; Fabian Cortez does not trigger Teamwork on the new Acolyte minion. When Fabian is defeated, the new Acolyte is put into play, then Fabian is discarded, and then the Acolyte’s Teamwork triggers. There is no nested sequencing causing Teamwork to trigger before Fabian is discarded; you resolve Fabian’s When Defeated in full and discard him immediately, then you open the timing window to resolve Teamwork and also any “Response” abilities triggering off of Fabian’s defeat.

-Alex – June 17, 2025

Thanks so much in advance!

Hi,

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-magneto-expert-(207)-(836922230).json, it is almost impossible (at least for me) to distinguish the number of acceleration tokens on the main scheme: 


Thanks in advance!

Similar problem in this game: [0.5.9.188]-magik-magneto-expert-(145)-(836922230).json

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-magneto-expert-(227)-(1607018043).json you can see this same problem but when using Scrying. 

Thanks!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-magneto-expert-(172)-(1607018043).json, Magneto did not loose the confused card when Magneto's helmet was revealed. This might be related to a similar effect that I have observed when playing against En Sabah Nur (reported here https://itch.io/t/5584108/strange-effect-with-en-sabah-nur)

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

Discarding Digging Deep or White Fox with Global Logistics or Scrying (Magik's Card) should bring it to your hand, according to this ruling by FFG (taken from here: https://hallofheroeslcg.com/latest-ffg-rulings-post-rrg-1-5):

Q: With the upcoming White fox basic ally, does she physically have to be the top card of the deck or could she be discarded with something like global logistics in which she started as the second card for example?

A: Yes, you can resolve White Fox’s ability if she’s the second card in a deck and discarded via Global Logistics.

However, I've found that it does not work that way in the app. For instance, in this game: 

[0.5.9.188]-magik-magneto-expert-(162)-(1607018043).json

Thanks in advance!

Another instance where this happens: [0.5.9.188]-magik-dark_beast-expert-(13)-(648739307).json

While playing with Magik [0.5.9.188]-magik-dark_beast-expert-(172)-(1384765213).json, I've noticed that Break Time https://marvelcdb.com/card/44046 is not playable for some reason. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

While playing with Magik  [0.5.9.188]-magik-en_sabah_nur-expert-(18)-(1057832924).json, I had Utopia (which is an X-Men card) on top of the deck, but I was unable to use Team-Building Exercise to discount it. In general, I was not able to use Team-Building Exercise to discount the cost of cards on top of the deck, but I think I should (Magik has a constant ability that lets her play a card from the top of the deck as it were in her hand). 

Thanks in advance!

Something related to this happened again. In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-en_sabah_nur-expert-(38)-(983512882).json, the villain changed to Giant Form because of a superpower card that was revealed after step 1 of the villain phase (due to the counters on the main scheme). He should have lost the confused card and schemed, but the did not. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-magik-mister_sinister-expert-(130)-(140753473).json, I triggered Nightcrawler's response to avoid all the damage being dealt to Hope Summers. However, Magik received overkill damage as if Hope Summers had been defeated. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

In this game [0.5.9.188]-spdr-venom-expert-(27)-(1647536118).json, I found a problem: I do not know how to use SP//DR Suit's Sync Ratio ability to only exhaust part of my Interface upgrades. It seems that I can only use it to exhaust ALL of them. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

Just a question about the puzzle editor: is there any tutorial on how to use it?

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-hulkling-en_sabah_nur-expert-(218)-(758787141).json, the villain had the Celestial Armor attachment https://marvelcdb.com/card/45156, but it had been blanked by Vivian. The Celestial Tech treachery (https://marvelcdb.com/card/45158) was revealed and the effect of the attachment was resolved but it should not have, because it was blanked. What I think should have happened, since the attachment keeps the traits even when blank, is that the treachery should have resolved with no effects.  

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-hulkling-en_sabah_nur-expert-(207)-(758787141).json (after step 191), I noticed a strange effect with En Sabah Nur. The villain was confused, but then it changed to Giant Size because of Giant-Sized Despot (https://marvelcdb.com/card/45152). In this new form, the villain is stalwart, but it didn't loose the status card. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

In this game [0.5.9.188]-bishop-baron_zemo-expert-(36)-(1604990749).json, when I defeated SHIELD Trooper (https://marvelcdb.com/card/50178) a non-SHIELD support was discarded. I think only a SHIELD ally or a SHIELD support should be discarded. This happens around step 36 in the savefile. 

Thanks in advance!

Just that: thanks so much for the new scenario (and all the improvements, fixes and hard work!). I downloaded the new version of the app just 16 minutes after you released it and I've already played my first game against Jessica Drew. Awesome!

Oh, thanks, I hadn't noticed that, sorry!

Hi, thanks for adresing this. I'm not completely sure I understood this: 

Given that both main schemes are part of the same scenario, the rules regarding acceleration tokens/icons apply uniformly.

What does this imply for the Venom Goblin scenario?

Thanks in advance!

Oh, sorry, I included the incorrect link for the savefile. It should be this: https://pastebin.com/dHZAWAEY This happens after step 180, I think.

Thanks in advance!

Thanks!

Thank you!

Thanks so much!

Sorry about not given you the step on the savefile. I know it can be hard to locate. The thing is that I remembered this after finishing the game and I did not know which step it had happened in (and I was not completeyl sure it really had happened). Sorry about that :(

Thank you for addressing the problem!!!

Hi,

While playing against Nebula https://marvelcdb.com/card/16098, I think I noticed that Wide Stance https://marvelcdb.com/card/16098 removes cards from the game instead of just discarding them. This happens several times during the game. The one I noticed was almost at the end of the game. 

Thanks in advance!

Hi, 

While playing against Nebula https://pastebin.com/v7mtp3bs, I played Gambit and tucked under him Lethal Intent https://marvelcdb.com/card/16099 The attack and thwart of Gambit should have been 3, but as you can see in the image below it was set to 2: 

Thanks so much in advance!

Thanks so much!

I think this is clarified in the rules of the Sinister Motives expansion:

When threat would be placed on “the main scheme” by an enemy activation, card ability, or acceleration icon, place it on the scheme with the glider counter.

Also, in the same rule book it is mentioned that: 

Q. How do the patrol keyword and the crisis icon interact with three main schemes? 

A. The patrol keyword prevents the engaged player from thwarting “the main scheme,” while the crisis icon prevents each player from removing threat from “the main scheme.” In both cases, per the glider counter rules, encounter effects that refer to “the main scheme” only refer to the scheme with the glider counter.

If I recall correctly, this is not implemented in the scenario. I think I remember that minions with patrol did prevent me from thwarting from any of the main schemes. 

Thanks so much in advance!

Hi, 

I'm afraid I do not have a savefile for this, but I think that I've noticed that in the Venom Goblin scenario, when a side scheme with an acceleration token is in play (such as this one https://marvelcdb.com/card/27124), then additional threat is added to all the three main schemes. I think that, according to Skies Over New York https://marvelcdb.com/card/27116a it should only be added to the main scheme with the glider on it. 

Thanks in advance!