Once you delete the text of the item, you are prompted with 'DELETE?' where you confirm with the [ENTER} key in the same way you confirm adding items.
Recent community posts
Hæ this feature has been changed, so now you would double click to edit the title of the Collection and delete the text, which will then prompt to remove it permanently. This was changed for consistency and so that it is not possible to accidentally remove Collections. The X will have another purpose in the future but has been removed at this time.
Thank you for your comment and suggestions. There are definitely some ways to improve functionality in Tape that are being considered and we are on the same page here with most of this, and some things that are already in the original scope but haven't been implemented yet. There are also some other exciting plans for Tape, but cannot give any indication of timeframe, for now.
Hæ— Renaming and deleting Items was introduced in 1.1.1. Renaming and reordering collections has been introduced in 1.1.2 currently available to Patreon supporters but will be released to everyone soon.