How We Handle SpendResources Option in Forced Effect
Related Card: “01123”
Related Topic: Bug with Sonic Boom
The FAQ states:
If you cannot fulfill either option, then you must do as much as you can, which typically means discarding one or two different resource icons from your hand.
However, after a thorough review of the rules, we believe:
Spending is a type of action that has only two possible outcomes: Can or Cannot. There is no option for “do as much as you can.” Spending is not the same as discarding, even though the results may appear similar; they are fundamentally different actions.
Current Solution: Players are allowed to click cancel without spending any resources.