Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Bug with Sonic Boom

A topic by quantumodo created Apr 27, 2025 Views: 114 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 4

Hi, 

While playing against Kang (sorry, I am afraid I do not have a save file), Sonic Boom (https://marvelcdb.com/card/01123) was revealed as a encounter card. I had no allies in play and my hero was exhausted: 

However, I was able to choose the option "Exhaust each character". This has been specifically rule against (you can find the ruling in the MarvelCDB page for the card https://marvelcdb.com/card/01123):

Q: If I reveal Sonic Boom, and all my characters are already exhausted, can I still choose the option to exhaust all characters I control?

A: No. If possible, you would have to spend the resources, if all the characters you control are already exhausted. Sonic Boom is a choice, but you must choose an option that you can fulfill. If you cannot fulfill either option, then you must do as much as you can, which typically means discarding one or two different resource icons from your hand. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

In general, (from the Choose section of the rules): 

When an encounter card requires a player to choose an option, they must choose an option they can resolve. If they cannot fully resolve any option, they must choose the option they can most fully resolve.

Thanks in advance!
Developer

Hi @quantumodo,

Thank you for reporting the issue regarding card “01123” (Sonic Boom) in version 0.5.9.4.

We were aware of this when coding the card, but we don’t believe the process flow described in the FAQ is correct.

“01123” reads:

Either spend [energy] [mental] [physical] resources or exhaust each character you control.

Spending is a type of action that has only two possible outcomes: Can or Cannot. There is no option for “do as much as you can.” Spending is not the same as discarding, even though the results may appear similar; they are fundamentally different actions.

If this card were to function as the FAQ suggests, it should read:

Either spend [energy] [mental] [physical] resources or exhaust each character you control. If you cannot do either, discard cards from your hand with resource icons [energy] [mental] [physical] as much as you can.

In this case, the last action would not be a Spend action, which means that effects like “After you spend this card, xxx” would not trigger.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you think we should update this card?

Here you cannot choose to exhauste all characters since all of the are already exhausted, so you should only be able to pick the first option, spend the resources necessary since you have them. If neither of the options are available, the card simple whiffs, nothing happens.

ok, again I'll have to eat my words, here is a direct answer for Caleb

Yes, exactly, That is the ruling I was referring to in my post. I think it is completely clear that this is the intention with this card. And, in general, for each card with a Choose option.