Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines
(1 edit)

Hi @quantumodo,

If we understand the rule correctly, it states that an effect on a card that is not controlled by a player will ignore all crisis icons, right?

After we update the engine, we have two questions:

  1. Card “50050” (Informant) reads:

    When a minion schemes, xxx, this activation removes threat instead of placing it.

    Since it states “this activation,” we strongly believe that the threat is removed by the minion that has the upgrade “50050.” Therefore, removing threat is not the responsibility of a player, and as a result, the threats should be removed.

  2. Regarding the question we mentioned here: Clarification needed on crisis icon interaction with 30019.

    If “30019” is attached to a scheme, the controller of it is not a friendly character, so it should be able to remove threat in that case, right?

We look forward to your response.

Hi, 

Thanks so much for looking into this, I really appreciate it. 

About Informant, there is a recent ruling: 

I thought about this for a while, and since the Upgrade Informant was spoilered, I have a question. It does a similar thing as Psychic Manipulation, but isn’t a thwart, but an upgrade. Does that mean, it doesn’t circumvent crisis icons? What is the defining thing, if something circumvents crisis? Being considered part of the identity or being a player card vs encounter card? Or even being specifically a thwart?

We are correcting a recent ruling we made on Informant, which emphasized the card’s theming over how it fit into rules as written. The updated ruling is that Informant does not circumvent crisis icons, given it is an upgrade that does not attach to “another friendly character” and therefore its ability is considered performed by the identity, so a crisis icon would prevent it from removing threat from the main scheme. For something to circumvent a crisis icon, it either has to explicitly state so (like Shadowcat) or it has to be an ability that isn’t an extension of the identity and is not on a card that a player controls, such as an ally or support. Environment cards and encounter cards are not controlled by players, so they are not affected by crisis icons in play.

-Alex – January 31, 2025

Regarding Overwatch (30019), I think the logic is the same: this is a player card, so the action of removing threat is performed by the identity that owns the card so, again, threat cannot be removed with it from the main scheme. Moreover, Overwatch IS controlled by the player, so it cannot circumvent the crisis icon. 

Hi @quantumodo,

Thank you for your thoughtful response and for clarifying the recent ruling.

Based on your insights, we will update the rules as follows:

  1. “32087b” (Night of the Sentinels B) will ignore crisis icons.
  2. “30019” (Overwatch) will not ignore crisis icons.
  3. “50050” (Informant) will not ignore crisis icons.

We appreciate your input on these matters, as it helps us ensure the rules are clear and accurate. If you have any further questions or thoughts, please feel free to share!

Thanks so much!!!