Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

copyright problems?

A topic by Teenage Code created Mar 05, 2021 Views: 399 Replies: 5
Viewing posts 1 to 5
Submitted(+1)

Hey, I'm new to game jams, so please forgive the stupid question.

since we are copying a game, isn't there any copyright laws that we are supposed to be aware of?

You aren't forced to copy a retro game, you could make a unique game but with a retro style!

The first rule states "Your game must redesign some existing game idea" with the example being remaking Portal. So it does sound like you are forced. You could interpret it as redesigning the main game mechanics and not the actual game, though, since it only says that you should redesign an existing game idea, not an existing game. Can still be problematic but way less problematic than making an obvious copy of an IP. Even if you had to, since there's no price, you don't have anything to lose by submitting a game that doesn't follow the rules. 

So yes, copying an IP is definitely problematic copyright wise. There are probably many nuances to this, though, and I doubt there's a lawyer here to properly answer that question. 

Jam Host

Try to avoid infringing on IPs, especially the ones owned by very protective companies. On the other hand, the jam games should be similar enough so you can tell what game was redesigned. The only thing to watch out for is Shadow of Mordor's nemesis system, Warner Bro's holds a patent to it so you can't use it without paying them. (typical 馃槖)

(+1)

Actually, there are many game mechanics which are patented, not just the nemesis system. (NOTE: I've taught classes on game business & law, but nothing in this post constitutes legal advice and I am NOT a lawyer.)

For example, scrolling notes in rhythm games (both horizontally and vertically) was patented. It's why Guitar Hero choose to use the 3D "into the screen" view - to avoid infringement.