itch.io Spring Selects Series A
On Sale: GamesAssetsToolsTabletopComics
Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Started making games 6 days ago ; first jam (Devlog)

A topic by JamSpread created Jan 23, 2020 Views: 428 Replies: 12
Viewing posts 1 to 7
(6 edits) (+5)

Day -1

_________

I am excited to start my first jam and I think I have my plot nailed down.

You are a alive being in the village and protect from monsters although when then moon strikes each night except on a new moon. When you become a destructive beast keen on causing mayhem. Also midnight snow pours causing heat levels to go down so you must also stay heated.

Since I'm new to the whole game making thing I wanted to start getting my bases to get prepared for the following weeks. I learned animation, and today through watching a time lapse of producing a tile set I made my first professional one and learned a lot. I think I shall make this game a platformer. I want to introduce a unique mechanic and I sure wish to think of one. I am not producing prior to the jam and am just making content that could guide me later. 

Day 0

_________

I want to get my 

assets, art music and the such down before heading into my game engine, so I am going to start working on my sprite animations and character. I have concept art about a character with a mask due to the fact I don't really know how to make a face. The vest is a light burgundy and the shirt being one of green coloring. I honestly don't have much of an idea how to do this, so any suggestions would be a massive help.

Note: I am working alone;

Day 1

_________

I am working on my sprite still and have had some trouble so to ease my mind I created a possible background for the game.

I don't honestly know about this and have a snowier and fainter background in mind. I could possibly adjust the image but only