Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[DevLog] Kaleb

A topic by Sirius Owlnight created Jan 11, 2018 Views: 425 Replies: 7
Viewing posts 1 to 6
Submitted (7 edits)

Hi everyone, I'm Sirius, I think that making a devLog could help me to stay motivated, so here it is !  This is my first JAM, and I have never done some game development before so this Jam is a  pretty much a big challenge for me. My goals are to learn things about game design and to get acquainted with the gamedev softwares.  I'm coming a bit late because I had some exams last week. 

For this JAM I will be using Construct 2, because it looks pretty easy to learn and friendly for people who don't know things about development.

[Concept of the game]

So, Kaleb is a puzzle game with a bit of platformer sides. Your goal is to guide to his deliverance a robot called Kaleb by making him cross different levels. The main mechanic of the game is that you are in a lab filled with a lot of robots, every robots have some abilities that is defined by its memory cards (Like walking forward, flying, being invulnerable to the fire,etc...). And the player is able to move this different memory cards from one robot to another (The A robot can jump and the B robot can walk, you can move the cards of the A and the B robots to make them immobile and make Kaleb move and jump), by doing so he needs to make Kaleb reach the end of the level and avoid the different dangers that menace him. 

[DAY 1 (01/11)]

Today I worked on the basic mechanic of the game : The moving and placement of the memory cards, I chose a drag and drop system where you take the card from an entity and then stick it to the entity of your choose by dropping the card on it. I also used a brightness effect to make it more easier to see when you have entered the hitbox of an entity.