SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Shodo (Unity)

A topic by SuperSpasm created Jan 08, 2017 Views: 897 Replies: 10
Viewing posts 1 to 6
Submitted (1 edit)

Hey, I'm Jonathan.
I started working on an android project a a few weeks back (really rough prototyping, code was completely unmaintainable)
but I wanted to join the jam, so someone on discord gave me the idea to build it again from scratch for this jam.
So I am! never made a Devlog before but I figure this could be a good outlet for successes and failures.
I'm making it with an artist (Lena) that I met irl, it's her first game ever. I'm also fairly new to dev and this is my first time tackling mechanics as complex as this.

some quick info about the game:

-Platform: android
- Engine: Unity
- Genre: 2D platformer (?)
- Theme: Japanese/Chineese caligraphy and art
- Core mechanic: drawing caligraphic brush strokes on screen that act as platforms.
- Basic story: a Monk finds a dying wolf (or some sort of cainine), helps his soul ascend to heaven (?)
and is followed by the ghost/spirit of the wolf. it's your job to keep the monk from falling to his death(lemmings style)

My goal in this jam is to be motivated by the deadline to finish a bare-bones version of the game with a few levels finished!

Edit: added the fact that I'm doing this in Unity. seemed relevant

Submitted

WARNING: technical rant incoming!

So my basic implementation for the Shodos (brush strokes on screen) is to use a LineRenderer and a PolygonCollider2D that are continuously updated by pointer position (either mouse or touch).

I'm basically mimicking a TrailRenderer (+Collisions) with my LineRenderer. I don't use a TrailRenderer though because then I would have less control over the vertices of the trail (which I have to keep in sync with the collider), and also because TrailRenderer "remembers" the time it took you to draw each segment, and I want it to "erase" and resize at a steady pace, regaurdless of how long it took to draw the line.