Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[DevLog] The V-Astounding Inn

A topic by Jamarin created Feb 06, 2018 Views: 487 Replies: 12
Viewing posts 1 to 9

Hi all! I want to create a devlog to force myself to work on this project. It will also help me to improve my English level. Obviously I am open to corrections in both: the language and the way the devlog is written.

I have some experience in videogames development, but I'm learning how to create Unity 2D experiences in a short time. This is my first jam, so I hope I can finish in time.

About the game: The V-Astounding Inn

Is a top-down RPG where the player will arrive at an inn where the protagonist will evolve as a person and reflect on his past.  The player will have to overcome some fights in their own mind, as well as argue well the answers to the innkeeper's questions.  Will the player overcome the barriers of their own mind?

---------------------

I will add more information in a few hours, as well as the first game status update.

(1 edit)

Hi everybody!

Today I have been working on the tileset. I had never worked with the new Unity tile tool, so that has been a challenge for me. Thanks to Agggron I have been able to solve one of the biggest problems that I have had, I never set the pixel per unit to the sprite size and my map didn't fit. After set the correct pixel per unit value, everything fell into place.

I also have been working with the tile collision system, with this system I realized that I could create layers and I started again in the correct way. After that, I just use the Tilemap Collider 2D to automatize the collisions.

Finally, I have developed a simple free-moving system that I will have to polish later.

Right now I'm working on the character animations, so I'll be adding more information soon.

Submitted