Ok, I ran this test: Standard game set with continue reduction unchecked in the standard rules , no advanced rules. Network play.
Start the game, and as you have said, the non-server player does see the green 11 as the drain indicator. I did a rules check on both sides, and the rules are correctly set (NO DRAIN CHECKED).
When I begin to play, on the non-server players turn, the drain indicator does in fact disappear and is never seen again - so it is an initialization thing. Drain will not have an impact on this configuration. So it is a visual bug.
Thanks for the heads up.
--Mark