This sequence definitely needs some precautions to prevent cases where save data is actually lost. It seems,
- Force quitting/crashing the game before going to game over screen doesn't trigger modified new game sequence
- Also you really need to save after clicking new game and game spawns you in the save room. If you forget and die, you cant hit continue and new game will actually start a new game.