Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics

Hi Darkyeoman. Thanks for your question and my apologies for the delayed reply. 

You have understood the level 1 rule correctly. However, the loss condition you mention is only triggered if you cannot perform the royal action after performing the royal ceremony (i.e., moving a cube from the royal host to the adjacent waiter). Therefore, you can avoid losing the game by taking a different action and waiting to perform the royal action until after you have filled all the serving dishes. 

Hopefully that makes more sense now :-)

(3 edits)

Thanks for the reply.

I’m not sure this solves the problem I ran into, or perhaps I misunderstood.

Level 1 states I need to fill all serving dishes before I can put something on a plate. So how many cubes do I have to move to a serving dish, before I can move them to a plate?

Two of the table cards have 1 space on serving dishes.

Three cards have 2.

Three cards have 3.

One card has 4.

All but two of the royal sides have 1 space. Two royal cards (the two which have but one space on the other side) have none.

That means that I could end up with a table that has 16 or 17 or 18 spaces on serving dishes.

There are 18 cubes. If I have any of the royal cards I mentioned in my previous post, that means I should not move at least 3 of those cubes unless all serving dishes are filled, otherwise I’d lose the game (because I can’t perform the associated royal action).

So, if I have a table with 16 or 17 or 18 serving dishes spaces, I would automatically lose, because I would be forced to move one, two, or three of those 3 cubes associated with a royal action that would force me to lose (i.e. any royal action that involves cubes on plates).

In other words, in those situations, there would be no other action I could take, because the only actions I can take in the game is move a cube (1) from trolley > dish (and perform the associated royal action), (2) from tray > dish, (3) from dish > plate.

I don’t want to do (1), because I can’t perform the royal action associated with it and so I would lose the game.

I can’t do (3), because level 1 forbids me to do so.

I can do (2) until all cubes from the trays have moved to the dishes, but once that is done I can’t do (2) because there is nothing else to move.

So I would either be stalled or lose the game.

This happened in two games I set up to play.

Your explanation makes sense and you are correct - you have identified an issue with the original game design. I'll need to do some additional work to resolve this. 

Thanks for pointing it out :-)