Skip to main content

On Sale: GamesAssetsToolsTabletopComics
Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Enjoying the game, but I'd need a clarification for Red Item Table, King card. It says "Fortune device. Gain 4 landmark dice. Costs 4 more coin." I'm confused by the last part - what costs 4 more coins? Everything from this point onwards? This item?

Another, unrelated question: does the game end immediately if you run out of dice, even if you could get more in the rest phase? As in, I have a landmark die and a biome die. I draw a card and travel to a location. The location table has me lose a biome die so I only have the landmark die left. I enter the rest phase, where I lose 1 remaining die. But I have rest actions that I could use to get more dice - is this considered losing, or is it only a loss if I don't have any dice left to lose when I enter the rest phase?

Hey! Glad to hear you are enjoying it. The fortune device itself costs 4 more coin to buy.

Yes, the game ends immediately if you run out of dice, however the game is designed to be modular, so if you don’t like that rule, simply play as you described, checking for the dice game end rule after the rest phase.

Happy map-making!

I got the item when going to a discovery site, by drawing "random item", so not a settlement of any kind, and to my understanding, you don't roll for price tables unless you're in a settlement? Would that mean that it should have cost 4 coins?

I didn't have any coins when I made my way there so I couldn't have collected it anyway, but if it had happened earlier, would the item still be there to collect later if I made my way back?

That’s correct, you only roll for prices of items when taking the shop action at a settlement. In your instance, you can take the item without paying any coin!