Good question regarding more dice on a skill test. From the core rules:
A success is achieved when the player rolls a d6 with a result of the chosen Stat’s level or lower. To complete a Skill Test at a location the player must roll dice equal to the level of the location and achieve a success on each roll.
What this means is that adding more dice to the Skill Test offers more chances to reach the required number of success for the location. Essentially what I should have had the rule read is, "You must roll successes equal to or greater than the location's level." So if you are rolling 3d6 at a level 2 location, you now gain an additional chance to win the Skill Test.