Dear most honorable and blessed Jim Hall, I ran a session of Beetle Knight with my friend a short while back, and we have a question about the weapon mechanics. As it stands currently, I scratch my head.
The rulebook reads,
"USING WEAPONS - You can use any weapon. Add your relevant Ability Modifier to attack rolls. When attacking you can only roll up to your relevant Ability. E.g. I attack with my Talon (d12) but only roll a d6, because my Might is d6."
So then, does mean that I always attack using my ability die? Even if I have a massively epic weapon like the d12 Talon, I only use my d6 in Might? If that is indeed the case, why would I bother with using any weapon that's greater than my ability die? We pondered and pondered this for a long time, and no matter how we looked at it, it did not make sense to us. Is this the intended design of the game? Are we missing something?