Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Dear most honorable and blessed Jim Hall, I ran a session of Beetle Knight with my friend a short while back, and we have a question about the weapon mechanics. As it stands currently, I scratch my head.

The rulebook reads,

"USING WEAPONS - You can use any weapon. Add your relevant Ability Modifier to attack rolls. When attacking you can only roll up to your relevant Ability. E.g. I attack with my Talon (d12) but only roll a d6, because my Might is d6."

So then, does mean that I always attack using my ability die? Even if I have a massively epic weapon like the d12 Talon, I only use my d6 in Might? If that is indeed the case, why would I bother with using any weapon that's greater than my ability die? We pondered and pondered this for a long time, and no matter how we looked at it, it did not make sense to us. Is this the intended design of the game? Are we missing something?

Blessed and honorable Jim Hall, despite this conundrum we enjoyed playing Beetle Knight, but this question haunts us so. Please, we beseech thee for an answer. Favor and grace be upon you.

Dearest Xagu,

You are interpreting the rule correctly. The idea is that a Knight with a low Might cannot properly wield a giant talon. Meanwhile, Knights with high Might have a wider selection to choose from. The exception would be special items which you are able to wield due to the exceptional quality of the weapon.

If your Might is low, you will have a higher Agility, Presence, or Intellect. Therein lies your Knight’s strength!

highly encourage you to hack the rules to make them most fun for your table. 

Sincerely,

Jim Hall