Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Why can't beta testers rate any game that they tested?

A topic by Garry Francis created May 23, 2022 Views: 102 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 3
Submitted

I'm a bit concerned about rule 19 (and the last phrase of rule 18). Rule 19 states that "Beta testers may not rate any game that they tested." I know this used to be a rule in IFComp prior to 2021, but this isn't IFComp and I think beta testers should be able to rate games. My rationale is:

• As an author, I need people to test my game, but this rule is a disincentive for me to get it tested, as there will be fewer people available to play and rate my game.
  • As a potential tester, I like to help authors write the best game they can, but this rule is a disincentive for me to test games, as I won't be able to replay and rate the final version.

Given that the text adventure community is pretty small, I would have thought that we should be encouraging testing and trying to get as many judges as possible. Doesn't rule 19 thwart those goals?

There is no rule that says authors must declare their testers. Any adherence to rule 19 would therefore be based on an honour system. The authors must be honest about declaring their testers and the testers must be honest about not voting. There is nothing in the itch.io rating system to check who tested what game and to prevent those testers from voting. Similarly, if there was no rule 19, we must trust the testers to vote honestly and not to rate a game higher just because they tested it. I think we can trust them to do that.

Jam Host (1 edit)