Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

My Tic-Tac-Toe Nemesis is a Sulphur-Crested Cockatoo [belated devlog]

A topic by droqen created Feb 20, 2021 Views: 253 Replies: 3
Viewing posts 1 to 4
Submitted(+1)

With a title partially inspired by our fearless jam host's own games titles, I've been working all week on a nemesis-inspired version of the Tic-Tac-Toe game I made earlier this month; it took me a day of fruitless experimentation to realize I had the perfect foundation sitting in front of me all along. What I wanted from the nemesis mechanics was to bring a world to life. That's the big part of what I got out of reading through the whole patent: as a document it's a wonderfully detailed heap of descriptions of interlocking mechanics that create a very particular sort of alive-feeling world.

I don't know if I'm properly patent infringing with the game I've ended up with, but I am going to publish it on the App Store (assuming they'll have me, this is my first time dealing with that whole thing), because if I'm trying to enter a legal grey area I might as well do it on a big stage!!!

I'll try to talk a little more about it before the jam is over but since I'm trying to spend all my time either working on the game or taking pointed breaks so I don't burn out I'll just quickly wrap up this opening post with a picture of the game:

HostSubmitted

I just played the AIs and that's really fantastic use of tone with interaction. Looking forward to what you release for this!

Submitted (1 edit)

Oops, I didn't make another devlog post, but I did write a bit in the description on Tic-Tac-Crow's itch page. Let's see...

(quote from 2021, feb 22 below)

If you're reading this, the Nemesis system patent is in effect (or is just about). When I set out to make a game for the Nemesis Jam, I really wasn't expecting to find the document so educational and inspiring.