Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Tundra Runner

A topic by Godzilla Blitz created Jan 25, 2020 Views: 382 Replies: 15
Viewing posts 1 to 10
(+1)

In! Super excited about this. I've been a away from game dev for a while, still mostly a beginner. I'm going to try to dig back into Unity and build a cold-themed platformer.

I built *most* of a heat-themed platformer for a My First Game Jam about a year and a half ago, so building this will be a good way for me to remember what I used to know, and get back into building stuff with Unity.

I've got a Kanban set up with tasks if anyone is interested in following along.

I'll try to keep this updated with daily progress. I look forward to checking out everyone's projects, too! 

Let's do this!

Submitted(+1)

Wow you have the entire project planned out start to finish! I barely managed to plan my first two days haha. I will have to learn to plan ahead better. Looking forward to seeing your progress.

Thanks! Not quite the whole project maybe but a chunk of it anyway—as far ahead as I could think. :)

If I don't do something like that I get totally off the rails. :)

Host(+1)

oh this board looks very organized! best of luck with the jam!

(+1)

Thanks, J! Got three cards done today. First steps! Player prototype can stand on an ice block in a scene. Woot!

Tomorrow: Building out the first scene ice landscape. Creating rounded ice blocks. Adding player movement. Adding player jumping.

So much to do, good times!

Day 3

I got basic player movement in place today: jumping, running, not jumping while in the air. I wish I had more time, but the daily progress feels good.

Now it's time to work on the player art and animation. Stick man must go. :)

(+1)

Day 4

Fun times with Aseprite! Idle player animation = done. Little guy is hyperventilating a bit, but I'll slow that down in the game. I got the running animation started, but will need to finish that tomorrow.