Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Ashes of Élan (AoE)

A topic by redmdlee created Jan 07, 2018 Views: 554 Replies: 13
Viewing posts 1 to 11

A wonderful sleep deprived morning to you all :)

I am a day late in starting this devlog so let me put you guys up to speed to what I've been up to and what I plan to accomplish for this gamejam.

Before all that let me give you a brief intro about me and the game.

I am Redmond Lee, or you can call me "Red" for short, I am a 3D modeling artist and this is my first time making a game and participating in a jam.  I've been wanting to do this for the longest time and decided that I should make it happen in 2018 and so I did. I have a very limited knowledge about game design but I am confident enough with my skills to be able to finish this game by the 20th of January or maybe even earlier. Recently (that being in 2017) I've been studying how to make games in UE4 in my spare time so I decided that it will be the engine I will be using for my "dungeon crawler". I've got great plans for this game, plans which I don't want to fully divulge yet but to give you an idea of what you'd be waiting patiently for I'll give you a brief description of the game. Its a dungeon crawler where you are forced to traverse darkness with very limited vision and the only thing that can light your path is your prized "Caliburn" (its a working name so please spare me this time).

Yesterday I've been working on the models and the game system
It was a hard day for me since a lot has not gone the way I planned it to but in 4 am in the morning, I managed to work things out (at least most of it)
Here some screenshots and videos as evidence I didn't slack of the work ;)
(some videos are for later when I upload them but in the mean time I need some rest)

I like what you have so far!  The moodiness of the lighting is great, another game I'll probably be scared while playing lol.