Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Garden Quest! devlog

A topic by Tobi V. created Jul 03, 2022 Views: 455 Replies: 17
Viewing posts 1 to 11
Submitted(+3)

Hello! This is my first time participating in a jam of any kind, so I'm very excited! I've been doing some research into Godot pre-jam, just so I'm not completely blind going in and I could get an idea of how complicated certain things are. Today was pretty busy for me IRL, but I sat down and wrote out my game plan and what I need to make a minimal viable product. (I do have a LOT in the "extras" category, hopefully those will just motivate me to finish the basic game first!)

My idea for a game is that you're a little cat tasked by a fairy to get an item (her garden light is out and you have to go get a AAA battery but since you're little it'll be the size of a sleeping bag). I have a map drawn and some ideas for the player character and plan to sit down to do the sprite artwork tomorrow. Part of the game is also combat, so I'll be doing research to see how hard it is to make turn-based combat. If it's tricky, I'll just go with real-time since I was able to do that following Davide Pesce鈥檚 tutorials and I don't want to waste a lot of time during the jam figuring that out.

Here's a little sketch I did of the cat and the map (I really want the cat to have little different vegetable hats that change their spells but I'm pushing that to the extras and will just code with the turnip hat.)

Submitted(+1)

Very cool idea! I'll be watching (and hopefully) playing!

Submitted

Thank you!

(+1)

Cute cat! It seems the game going to have a chill-comfy atmosphere. By looking at your sketches, I guess the game will be semi top down like "Straw Valley" so I suggest the turn based combat system. You can draw enemies in details just like the main cat characters and implement combat system in another scene like Pokemon.

Keep us posted about your latest devlogs and screenshots!

Submitted