Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

[Devlog] Oblivion Congee

A topic by Dumpling Owl created Jul 23, 2020 Views: 237 Replies: 2
Viewing posts 1 to 2
Submitted(+1)

A couple days away from the Jam end date, and I finally figure out what to share in a Devlog! As you can see, I am very new to this. So hello! My name is Jade. I also go by Lucca. I am a non-binary cartoonist/illustrator whose experience working in games previously was as the lead artist for an indie visual novel developed by Girls Make Games. This is my first game jam, and my first game that I'm making on my own! It's called...

Oblivion Congee

Work in Progress Title Page

What is it?

A Twine adventure that combines text with my background in comics to tell a visual story about congee, memory, and reincarnation. The game is loosely based on the Chinese mythological figure of Meng Po, who brews a tea/soup that causes souls to forget their past life so that they can be ready for reincarnation. My story follows a genderqueer version of the character who operates a congee shop in a train station for spirits. The player character isn't revealed until the ending and changes depending on your choices made in conversation with Meng--whose own hangups are slowly revealed and can lead to a secret ending on a second play-through (we'll see if I actually get to implement this in time).

Character sketches

Why congee?
Congee is a food that embodies sense-memories of warmth, comfort, and healing. It's at once simple, yet infinitely variable and creative. Cooking congee doesn't require any intricate skills, but it does demand time and care. I wanted congee to serve as a symbolic vehicle for a painstaking process that evokes strong feelings and memories, but in this story's context, it is made for one diametrically opposite purpose: to forget those attachments entirely.

Liminal Memories: