Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Space Panic Devlog

A topic by SheepStareGames created Dec 30, 2015 Views: 8,005 Replies: 3
Viewing posts 1 to 3

Introduction

I'm Harry, a developer from Leeds, UK. During the day I'm a PhD student researching the formation of massive stars, as are the other two developers on my team, Jake and Greg and also Marc our game designer! Our artist, Russ, is from Southern Ontario, Canada. Jamming has been great fun so far :D.

Game Idea

Imagine you've lost your tether to a space station and you're now floating in space. You must safely move your astronaut through an infinite maze of asteroids, finding and picking up important resources as you do. These resources (most importantly oxygen) need to be maintained in order for you to survive longer.

Picking up a resource will move the player to the POV of the astronaut, looking out his/her helmet into a slowly rotating view of stars. Your arm passes in front of you and you have to solve a Pipe Mania-style game, guiding fluid through pipes, in order to collect the resource within a time limit. These pipe puzzles get harder the longer you play and the longer you play the higher your score.