Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

My thought process about what engine to use (and configuring it all up).

A topic by kevidryon2 created Aug 01, 2022 Views: 373 Replies: 3
Viewing posts 1 to 4
(1 edit)

I’m sorry if you don’t like devlogs in your Community page, so please reply if i can continue to post here my game’s devlog or if i should do it somewhere else. By the way, once i post the game, i’ll put the devlog in the game’s page and (if you want to) remove it from here.

My first decision is to choose an engine; I’m a C programmer. I don’t want to deal with any low-level stuff, so a high-level C library with a lot of good documentation and examples (like some DS libraries I’ve used before and probably use again) would be awesome.

My first pick was gba-modern, but it had virtually zero basic examples or documentation so I can’t use it.

Then I looked at gba-plusplus, and (at least at first) it looked quite nice! OK tutorials to build my game from the ground up, and overall a pretty good library!

So I decided to select it.

Though, to use it, obviously, I’ll need to install it first.

So I immediately git cloned the repository and tried to build it with cmake

And my version of cmake was too low. So I got around that by editing the minimum required version of cmake

And I was missing SPHINX_EXECUTABLE, with the error “Cannot find Doxygen”.

I have no idea what it wanted to build, but I installed every single sphinx package I could find and tried again. And it complained about Doxygen. So I installed that and tried again. And it complained about a dot component of Doxygen. So I installed every single Doxygen package that exists and tried again. Now it complained about some error I didn’t understand:

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:8 (set_target_properties):
  INTERFACE_LIBRARY targets may only have whitelisted properties.  The
  property "LINKER_LANGUAGE" is not allowed.