Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

My first big mistake

A topic by MarcusFromOz created Apr 20, 2020 Views: 742 Replies: 14
Viewing posts 1 to 13
Submitted

Hey these things are for making mistakes right.

Going to start early and make my first big one 10 days before we start by trying to do this by myself.
Partly because its my first time, ok mainly because its my first time. Lets see how this goes.

Shout out to everyone else who plans to solo this, good luck also!

Submitted

Good luck!! I thought 31 days was short for my first time, I can't imagine 10 days!

Submitted (2 edits) (+1)

Thank you. Going well so far.

I'm trying to do the full RPG course (Part 1 - 188 lessons) in three weeks then spend 1 week customising.

One week down - 60 lessons completed.

Submitted (7 edits) (+1)

5:30am - Day 7 of GameJam.
A wise person once said, don't make big decisions when you are tired, angry, sick or hungry.
I'm not angry, sick, or hungry but I am tired. 
Yesterday was the first day I fell behind on the project and its triggered thoughts about a change in plan.

Days 1-5
Been following the straight and narrow, started the RPG course and have been ploughing through it.
The plan was: 188 lessons - 60 per week for 3 weeks.
That leaves me with one week to customise my game.
Been doing all the right things, using sourcetree, smashing out those 10-12 lessons per day. learning heaps, but there is that nagging doubt that one week of customisation is not enough.

Day 6
What happened? 
I did the first few lessons then learnt about cinemachine and creating cutscenes. 
Fell down a rabbit hole making my first cutscene and all of a sudden it was 4:00pm. 
I watched lectures 6 - 10  for the day, but now it was 5:30pm, I hadn't coded the lessons and it was my turn to cook for my family.
I'm half a day behind on what is already a schedule with no contingency.  

Day 7 - so here we are, been awake since 4am thinking, is it too early to go rogue??