Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

I'm in

A topic by alexman25 created Mar 20, 2021 Views: 95 Replies: 1
Viewing posts 1 to 2
(+1)

Deciding to join this jam, as recommended by my friend Emii-Soft.  If you care to listen at all; sit back, relax, and grab a snack as I tell my story so far, and my hopes for the future. This is why the Decade Jam is important to me. I don't think anyone really cares, but here's my text wall just in case.

I've been an aspiring game dev ever since I was eight, and in that time (I'm turning eighteen this year) I've already evolved and changed so much. Even comparing my games from a few years ago to now, they've sky-rocketed in quality (still not good, but hey). Not just in technical skill, but in themes, and even as a person.

I can't wait to look back in the 2030s at how much I've grown and changed over the decade, and this jam will be fantastic for creating milestones and all that. I'm also excited for this opportunity to see how my fellow devs grow, evolve, and ultimately improve over this decade of comradery. 

I suppose I should start at the beginning (at least, the earliest I can remember).

I've always wanted to make my own games, but of course, I started small. I'd mess around with debug-mode in the old Sonic games, and eventually also moved onto Super Mario fan-games where you could build your own levels. Many hours spent on those. Super Mario Flash, Super Mario 63, and Super Mario Bros. X were all great (Bare in mind, Super Mario Maker was still several years away at this point. I did end up getting it, and I spent a lot of hours on that as well.)