Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

What's your opinion of coloured words in descriptive text?

A topic by Garry Francis created Sep 19, 2019 Views: 108 Replies: 3
Viewing posts 1 to 3
Submitted

I started colouring the key nouns in room descriptions. I've never done this before, so it felt rather strange and disruptive to the flow of the text.

Then I thought I'd better colour those same words whenever they appeared (except in the list of objects and inventory). This felt even weirder. For example, if you examine an object and refer to it again in the response, do you colour it in the response?

Then I did a search and replace to find all instances of words that should be coloured. Again, I couldn't find any consistent pattern and it felt more and more uncomfortable. The adventure was starting to look like Joseph's technicolour dream coat. In a word - amateurish.

Then I noticed that the Adventuron hyperlinks to words are automatic. It has nothing to do with your colouring, so I had coloured words that were linked, uncoloured words that were linked, coloured words that were not linked and uncoloured words that were not linked. Huh? This is very confusing for a user. As an example, I have a door whose description says "...it's carved out of solid rock". Rock is normal text, but it's hyperlinked because I have a separate rock object.

In the end, I decided to remove the colouring.

So what does everyone else think about colouring of words? If you do it, what rules do you use to determine whether or not to colour a word?

Host