Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Would this jam be suitable/possible for a new developer?

A topic by MulchyGames created Feb 03, 2021 Views: 378 Replies: 3
Viewing posts 1 to 3

How complicated are these rogue-likes to make? I use Godot, and i am very interested in learning how to make roguelike games. Is this something i could have enough knowledge about in a months time to enter the jam? I'm excited about the prospects of making something like this! I know this is probably a very common question and it's extremely vague, but i just want to know if it's worth entering when i'm new to this.

Jam JudgeSubmitted

If you're familiar with Godot already then I'd say it's very feasible and you will have fun! The most important thing is to do some planning before the jam starts. For example, do some game design, planning out your main mechanic and deciding how will you put your own spin on the genre. Decide what assets you might use (color palette, sprites, sounds etc.). I just found this tutorial for Godot peeps. Definitely check that out (or others that may be around) and try to make it through before the 7drl. It will give you some experience on how to organize your code and offer a chance to come up with unique ideas for the jam.

Jam HostSubmitted(+2)

Absolutely!