Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags
0

Twine games with character customization - Part 1

A topic by xSai created Nov 16, 2021 Views: 15,887 Replies: 17
Viewing posts 1 to 34
(24 edits)

This is a list of text-based games with character customization that I've tried so far and that I find worth recommending, most of them (if not all) created through Twine. Keep in mind that newest titles added are at the end of the lists. I wanted to provide this since I have been asked by a few people regarding any games I know of like this. I plan to include more titles in this list as I find them, and recently I've gained some help in adding to the list over time. If you have any questions or spot anything that needs correcting, feel free to let us know.

Remember; everyone's opinion is different. The titles listed here are ones I personally enjoy since they are really well written with immersive content. I have yet to have found a complete Twine story, however, the ones listed in the following are ongoing works in progress and they do have quite a bit already released until then. Hope this list helps. ^_^

P.S.  I welcome any opinions on any of the stories you decide to try, or even if you have suggestions of your own. 

UPDATE: I have recently made a Discord server for anyone interested in Twine games or VN with player customization, and you are welcome to join! I will be mostly updating any games I find there since it's easier and others may contribute if they would like to. ^_^  ** (PLEASE NOTE: Although games that may contain adult themes are permitted to be discussed on the server, anything specifically NSFW-related is not and is instead restricted to a separate channel labeled for it. Please read through the rules and show respect to the other members because I show zero tolerance for inappropriate behavior.)**  

----You are welcome to join here --> https://discord.gg/Tt8rkykQP3

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wayfarers https://idrellegames.itch.io/wayfarer

Deliverance - https://caevacior.itch.io/deliverance

The Phoenix Knight - https://thephoenixknight.itch.io/the-phoenix-knight

Deity's Gift - https://justscribbles.itch.io/deitysgift

From Within - https://veirse.itch.io/from-within (Link currently broken)

City of Immortals - https://rotten-games.itch.io/city-of-immortals

Project Hadea - https://nyehilism.itch.io/project-hadea

Water to Blood - https://veirse.itch.io/water-to-blood

Superstition (1) - https://13leagues.itch.io/superstition

Superstition (2) - https://13leagues.itch.io/superstition-s2

Night of Nights - https://gcbaccaris.itch.io/night-of-nights

Sea of Graves - https://liminalcipher.itch.io/sea-of-graves

Scout - https://anya-writes.itch.io/scout-an-apocalypse-story

Regrets of the Traitor - https://rotten-games.itch.io/rott-book-one

Bad Ritual - https://heartforge.itch.io/bad-ritual

The Chosen One - https://kal-writes-if.itch.io/the-chosen-one-en (Link currently broken)

Snakeroot - https://ccrberus.itch.io/snakeroot

A Tale of Crowns - https://crownbright.itch.io/a-tale-of-crowns

Insight - https://13leagues.itch.io/insight

Eight Years Revolution - https://oscar-arcane.itch.io/the-eight-years-revolution

Speaker - https://speakergame.itch.io/speaker

Inner Demons - https://awmorgan.itch.io/inner-demons

Exiled from the Court - https://beeanca.itch.io/exiled-from-court

Waybinder - https://raygungoth.itch.io/waybinder

A Sky of Stars Scarlet Dusk - https://hannahlovberg.itch.io/a-sky-of-stars-scarlet-dusk

Crimson Rose and White Lily - https://manonamora.itch.io/crimson-rose-and-white-lily

Vardir - https://technicangels.itch.io/vardir

The Woods Hungers - https://cassdev.itch.io/the-woods-hungers

Eye of the Moon - https://atemaarte.itch.io/eyeofthemoon

Red Sugar Society - https://riotdevs.itch.io/redsugarsociety

Buried Love - https://kittidot.itch.io/buried-love

Out of the Blue - https://vahnya.itch.io/out-of-the-blue

The Ballad of Devil's Creek - https://meltingpenguins.itch.io/the-ballad-of-devils-creek

Dark Spirited - https://tentimes.itch.io/dark-spirited

Entropy - https://talesfromvalaan.itch.io/entropydemo

Wall - https://itscharlienow.itch.io/wall

Whisper in the Dark - https://whisper-game.itch.io/whisper-in-the-dark

Vogvhathos - https://corvaena.itch.io/vogvhathos

Ballad of the Judgement Night - https://nikkefort.itch.io/ballad-of-the-judgment-night

The Nameless - https://parkerlyn.itch.io/thenameless

Times Legacy - https://legacies-dev.itch.io/times-legacy

The Masked Defenders - https://ian-lythe.itch.io/the-masked-defenders

Swallow the Dark - https://forgottennames.itch.io/swallow-the-dark


---New additions to the list---

Crosshollow Foundations - https://crosshollow.itch.io/foundations

Not Another Advent Story - https://ludogood.itch.io/not-another-advent-story-episode-1

Eden - https://gamingpixie.itch.io/eden

Ascendance - https://ascendance-if.itch.io/ascendance

The Overtaken - https://dao-pen.itch.io/the-overtaken

Earth Text Based Life Sim https://ponsalayte.itch.io/earth-text-based-life-sim

A paradox between worlds – https://red-autumn.itch.io/a-paradox-between-worlds-ifcomp-edition

Things unwanted - https://illukimao.itch.io/things-unwanted

Entropy https://talesfromvalaan.itch.io/entropydemo


---Updated List (Courtesy of  McGclock) Newest are at the end of the list***

The Northern Passage: https://kithj.itch.io/the-northern-passage

A Paradox Between Worlds: https://red-autumn.itch.io/a-paradox-between-worlds-ifcomp-edition

Fellow Traveler: https://robotvampire.itch.io/fellow-traveler

The Last Witch: https://itsanna.itch.io/the-last-witch

For The Crown - https://13leagues.itch.io/ftc

Throne of Ashes - https://13leagues.itch.io/throne-of-ashes

We All Bleed Redhttps://lostkiwi.itch.io/we-all-bleed-red

Hollowpass Town Mysteries - https://birdiel.itch.io/hollowpass

Frostford's Mysteries - https://nemowrites.itch.io/frostfords-mystery

Souls Of Nothing - https://souls-of-nothing.itch.io/souls-of-nothing

Sanctum - https://neld13.itch.io/sanctum

Villain's Promise - https://lixthoughtstop.itch.io/villains-promise

Ascendence - https://ascendance-if.itch.io/ascendance

All paths lead to the Underground - https://pol-m.itch.io/all-paths-lead-to-the-underground

Underbelly - https://underbelly-if.itch.io/underbelly

The Alchemist - https://darielivalyen.itch.io/the-alchemist

The Brighter The Dawn - https://jellydishes.itch.io/the-brighter-the-dawn

Thieves of Divinity - https://isawrites.itch.io/thievesofdivinity

Ninelives - https://springsaladgaming.itch.io/ninelivesapolloversion1

the golden harp - https://renwrites.itch.io/the-golden-harp

Wolfwater - https://ratboy0214.itch.io/wolfwater-demo

Shapeless Soul - https://jayfell.itch.io/shapeless-soul

Elsinore: After Hamlet - https://lapinlunaire-games.itch.io/elsinore-after-hamlet

A Knights Heart -  https://cielstears.itch.io/a-knights-heart

Nellis Noble Magic Academy - https://velmiawarin.itch.io/nellis-noble-magic-academy

Swan Song - https://lyradev.itch.io/swan-song

For Whose Majesty (Previously named "Long Live The Emperor") - https://brushmen.itch.io/long-live-the-emperor

Summoners Gate - https://patchworked-rainbow.itch.io/summonersgate

The Unquiet Grave - https://ombresart.itch.io/the-unquiet-grave-game

Awakening of the gods - https://aofg.itch.io/awakening-of-the-gods

Dead Men's Tales - https://bertilak.itch.io/dead-mens-tales

Olympus: Secret Services - https://ekgfiction.itch.io/olympus

spilt milk (No gameplay available yet) - https://billi-bob-jo.itch.io/spilt-milk

The Rotting Tree: https://jinxedgames.itch.io/trt

You, Me and The End: https://sodablue.itch.io/you-me-and-the-end

Mahaha: https://heartzz.itch.io/mahaha

The Moonless: https://spacedfoxes.itch.io/the-moonless

VTM: Blood Frontier - https://dsnee.itch.io/vampire-the-masquerade-blood-frontier

The Hunt: DemonEyes: https://tiranka.itch.io/thde

Tell Me If There's A Way Home: https://blood-teeth.itch.io/tell-me-if-theres-a-way-home

The Witch's Bakery: https://mona-mae.itch.io/the-witchs-bakery

Miscalculated: https://nemowrites.itch.io/miscalculated

They All Fall Down: https://axelwrites.itch.io/they-all-fall-down (Link currently broken)

Infestation: https://chickadee-split.itch.io/infestation

Boundary Pass: https://theo-if.itch.io/boundary-pass

Shadow's Kiss: https://ajjia-writes.itch.io/shadows-kiss

Sinners and Saints: https://linwritesif.itch.io/sinnersandsaintsbeta

Beyond The Waves: https://allthatwrites.itch.io/beyond-the-waves-if

Esper: Fugitive : https://serienpetrichor.itch.io/esper-fugitive

Sevens Deadly: https://ejas-writings.itch.io/sevens-deadly

Detectives of Willborne: https://jaunefleur.itch.io/detectives-of-willborne

Bringer: https://plazahag.itch.io/bringer

Tales from the Road: https://iforgotmybrain.itch.io/tales-from-the-road

The Black River: https://jafitzjames.itch.io/the-black-river

Fallen Lights: https://dakotawritesif.itch.io/fallen-lights-demo

Survival Games: https://cooldevo.itch.io/survival-games

The list ends here, visit our next thread for more titles:

***Part 2 - https://itch.io/t/1910939/twine-games-with-character-customization-part-2

***If you have any recommendations you'd like to add to this list, feel free to let me know. The help is always appreciated and I'll be sure to credit those who contribute to it. Please remember, they must have some sort of CYOA with character customization alike to the other titles mentioned on this post. Thank you!  ^_^ 

this is the good shit!

I'm glad you like them XD

i love these kinds of games, i always am happy to find more!

Deleted 240 days ago

Awesome, thank you! ^_^

Now that I think about it, I completely forgot to mention The Brighter the Dawn. So thank you, I'm glad you listed it. ^_^

MORE??? TYSM KIND STRANGER

(1 edit)

I'm actually working on a story as well.  I'll be sure to post it once I get the first two chapters done. Highly doubt it will be even nearly as good as the ones in any of these lists though, but I'll let you guys be the judge of that. 

dude that sounds awesome! totally would like to play

Here's another one I found - 

Ethereal https://estufawn.itch.io/ethereal

Hey xSal!

Awesome list!

I'm a Twine 2 Sugarcube 2 Game Developer. 

I've just implemented a very basic character creation tutorial.

Please consider adding this to the list.

Cheers!

https://ponsalayte.itch.io/earth-text-based-life-sim

Hey there! Thanks for letting me know about the game, I got through the first part of it but ran out of time before I could get any further, So far I like it! I'll add it to the list for others to try out too. ^_^

Deleted 240 days ago

Awesome, thanks so much again! :D 

Deleted 240 days ago

Got it, I'll be sure to credit you on the recommendations as well since you've been contributing a ton to this thread.  :P  

Deleted 226 days ago

Much appreciated 😉 I'll update the thread.

Deleted 216 days ago

Yeah, I'll do that. Thanks for the updates ^_^

Deleted 188 days ago

Since the post has a text limit, i'll need to make a part 2. 

https://itch.io/t/1910939/twine-games-with-character-customization-part-2

This topic has been auto-archived and can no longer be posted in because there haven't been any posts in a while.