That’s pretty funny. If it goes entirely by modification time, then it sounds like it would probably be fine to rename the old files BEFORE uploading the newer version.
(Or, just leave it. The version numbers are in the filenames, most people should be able to figure it out. And if they can’t, I’m not convinced an “(Old)” way at the end of the filename is going to help much.)