You don't need to do anything, your saves should work fine on future releases. Saves are persistent across builds, so it's enough to remove the folder with past build, download and extract the new one and continue your game from it. Your past saves should be working correctly as they're stored in a different location. Sometimes new builds may break saves due to amount of introduced changes under the hood, but whenever that happens we let players know in release notes for builds. It's quite rare and usually your saves and gallery unlocks should remain intact