Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

Hi! I've been running a Bloodbeam Badlands campaign for the last few weeks, and we've been having a blast so far :)

There is one rule that's been slightly confusing me though:

At the end of the explanation of Imposed Checks, you say that 'In some instances, a GM can ask for a Stat under an NPC's Source, representing the vampire's ability to overcome something else's influence', without further elaboration.

Does this mean a player rolling their stat under an NPC's source? Surely that wouldn't make sense as it would mean the check got harder for the player the lower their opponent's source was.

Does it mean the GM rolling dice based on the NPC's stat? In that case why is the GM 'asking' for the roll, and why is it phrased as the 'vampire's ability'?

I'm just a little lost. It could probably do with an example.

Oh I'm so glad you've been having a good time!!

And that is a great question that I very recently also asked myself lol feel free to ignore that ruling, it kinda doesn't make sense for exactly how you described. I'm debating tweaking it for the final release (have players roll above an NPCs source?) but I also have never needed to have that happen in play lol