Skip to main content

Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
TagsGame Engines

I have a rules question that I can't figure out from the text. If you roll the highest number on your die ("Ultimate"), does the Ultimate rule only apply if the number isn't in the success range for the Move? Or does it override the success number. For example, if the Expert (d4) is testing Blasters (success range: 4,5,6,7), and rolls a "4"... is that a success because she rolled a "4" or do we treat that as an Ultimate and look to see whether the System is Bright, Twilight, or Dark to determine success?  This isn't really made explicit in the rules... p. 31 implies that that it would count as a success, while p.34 implies that you count it as an Ultimate.  (I'm table-ruling that this would be a success, but I'm not sure if that's the design intent.) Thanks for any clarification!!

You check for a success first before you check for an ‘Ultimate’ result, and the former always overrides the latter.

That’s how it’s explicitly spelled out in their ‘Mazes’ RPG, so your table ruling was correct!